

All Party Parliamentary Group for Fusion Energy 10:00, Room O, Portcullis House, 30th April 2024



Fusion Energy APPG - Annual General Meeting

1. Attendees

- Sheryll Murray MP (External Chair)
- Heather Wheeler MP (Meeting Chair)
- Baroness Walmsley
- Earl of Liverpool
- Liz Saville-Roberts MP
- Lord Wigley
- Mark Logan MP
- Philip Dunne MP
- Stephen Metcalfe MP
- Anna Howard (Secretariat)
- Celia Clark (Secretariat)
- Valerie Jamieson (Fusion Cluster Representative)

2. Election of Chair and Officers

- a) Heather announced the election of a Chair and Officers of the Group.
 - John Howell MP was elected as Chair of the Group
 - Alex Sobel MP was elected as Officer of the Group
 - Heather Wheeler MP was elected as Officer of the Group
 - Paul Beresford MP was elected as Officer of the Group

3. Approval of income and expenditure report

- a) The Chair shared the income and expenditure report.
 - i. Approved by Parliamentarians by a show of hands.

4. Approval of due diligence statement.

a) The Chair confirmed that due diligence had been done on the funding for the APPG and Secretariat.

5. Approval of APPG activity from the previous year.

- a) The Chair shared the annual report for 2023/34 with all Parliamentarians present.
 - i. Approved by Parliamentarians by a show of hands.

6. Events Programme and Future APPG meetings

a) The Chair and the Secretariat proposed that the APPG meets every two months, with a proposed events programme distributed to all Parliamentarians present.

7. Further Discussion

a) Members of the APPG and the Secretariat and Fusion Cluster representative spoke about the events programme and recent scientific breakthroughs in fusion energy.