Minutes from All Party Parliamentary Group on Japan AGM

12 March 2024

Churchill Room, Palace of Westminster

Attendees: Rt Hon Sir Graham Brady MP, Deidre Brock MP, Rt Hon Greg Clark MP, Mark Garnier MP, Lord Harrington, Sir Mark Hendrick MP, Rt Hon the Lord Howell, Mark Logan MP, Rt Hon John Spellar MP, Viscount Trenchard, Derek Twigg MP, , Rt Hon Shailesh Vara MP, Matt Western MP

Apologies received: Tracey Crouch MP, Judith Cummins MP, Chris Elmore MP, Rt Hon Tobias Elwood MP, Rt Hon Nigel Evans MP, Rt Hon Lord Lansley, Lord McConnell, Mark Menzies MP, David Morris MP, Lord Moynihan, Lord Holmes of Richmond

The meeting began at 12:05 pm

- 1. Approval of the Annual General Meeting minutes of 16th May 2023 The previous AGM's minutes were approved.
- 2. Approval of 2023/24 Financial Statement The 2023/24 Financial Statement was approved.
- 3. Election of APPG Officers in line new APPG rules:
 - a. Chair Rt Hon Greg Clark MP was elected as Chair
 - b. Secretary Sir Mark Hendrick MP was elected as Secretary
 - c. Treasurer Mark Garnier was elected as Treasurer
 - d. Vice Chair Rt Hon John Spellar MP was duly elected as Vice Chair
- 4 Motions for approval: Two motions were proposed by the Chair:
 - "1. That The Japan Society be appointed secretariat to the Parliamentary Group, in return for reimbursement of their reasonable costs incurred. Costs incurred are to be reported quarterly to all Officers and approved quarterly jointly by Chair and Treasurer (or one other Officer in the absence of either).
 - "2. That companies (which are permissible donors) with a UK/Japan connection be invited to be supporters of the Group for an annual subscription of £1,000".

Both motions were approved

Any other business: There was no other business

The meeting closed at 12:30