Inaugural meeting of the All Party Parliamentary Group for Micromobility – minutes

Location: Portcullis House, Ro

Date: 29/01/2025

Time: 16:00-16:30

Attendees: Deidre Costigan MP

Lord Prentis of Leeds

Baroness Vere of Norbiton

Lord Oates

Danny Beales MP

Andrew Cooper MP

Siobhan McDonagh MP

Allison Gardner MP

Agenda items

- 1. The name of the APPG
- 2. The purpose of the APPG
- 3. The objectives of the APPG
- 4. Election of officers and secretariat
- 5. Programme of work

Action items Name of the APPG The attendees agreed the need of the APPG should be the All-Party Parliamentary Group for Micromobility. The purpose of the The attendees agree the purpose of the APPG will be to APPG identify how best e-scooters and e-bikes should be regulated to help decarbonise transport and provide low-cost transport options while protecting pedestrians and other road users. Election of officers and The attendees elected Deidre Costigan as the Chair of the APPG. secretariat The attendees elected Lord Shinkwin, David Burton-Sampson MP and Rachel Blake MP as Vice-chairs of the APPG. The attendees agreed that Voi would act as the Secretariat for the APPG. Programme of work The attendees agreed that the group would run a select committee style call for evidence, hearing expert opinions and developing a report with recommendations at the end of the process. Attendees agreed the call for evidence could hear evidence on: Accessibility Licensing • Regulatory framework • Illegal vs trial e-scooters Street clutter and parking Attendees discussed the possibility of focusing on off-road mobility but agreed this fell outside the scope of the APPG. In addition to this approach, attendees agreed on other networking events such as a summer networking reception.