Minutes of the Extraordinary General Meeting of the All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) for Performing Arts Education and Training 30th March, via Zoom.

- An Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM) of the APPG for Performing Arts Education and Training was convened, at which the following were present: Simon Baynes MP (Chair), Sion Davies (Office of Simon Baynes MP), Lord Clancarty, Sharon Hodgson MP, Anna McMorrin MP, Baroness Wilcox of Newport, Glyndwr Jones (CDMT Director) Emily Maloney (CDMT Membership and Projects Manager). Apologies were received from Lord Aberdare and Lord Vaizey.
- 2. The APPG was convened following Simon Baynes' selection to the role of Parliamentary Private Secretary at the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS), which now precludes him from chairing an APPG in a related field. Glyndwr Jones thanked him for his support in establishing the APPG and the Group wished him well at the DCMS. Simon Baynes MP noted that he will still attend APPG meetings when possible, so as best to keep up to date with the issues at hand, and that he looks forward to furthering discussions relevant to the Group as part of his new role.
- 3. Glyndwr Jones explained that as Simon Baynes MP has now formally resigned as Chair of the Group, Sharon Hodgson MP will act as interim Chair for the purposes of this meeting only.
- 4. Sharon Hodgson MP confirmed that Anna McMorrin MP has been nominated to become Chair of the Group by Baroness Wilcox of Newport, to which others voiced their support. On voting, Anna McMorrin MP was elected unanimously as Chair by the parliamentarians in attendance. The Group shared warm words of congratulations to Anna McMorrin MP, who responded by thanking the outgoing Chair, Simon Baynes MP.
- 5. Anna McMorrin MP concluded the meeting by noting that she looks forward to working with CDMT going forward.