



All Party Parliamentary Group in Social Science and Policy

MINUTES

Local Election Analysis

Tuesday 6 May 2025, House of Lords

PRESENT: Lord Philip Norton (chair), Baroness Bakewell, Lord Faulkner, Lord Hampton, Lord Horam, Baroness Morris, Lord Rooker, Baroness Tyler, Lord Wallace, Baroness Young, Lorraine Beavers MP, Becky Gittins MP, Gurinder Josan MP, Jeff Smith MP, Peter Swallow MP, Liz Twist MP

IN ATTENDANCE: Ben Hopkinson (Office of Jade Botterill MP), Daniel Parks (Office of Lorraine Beavers MP), Danielle Moore-Chick (ESRC), Ed Biggins (Palace Yard), Flora Cirell (Office of Sam Tarry MP), George Pickthorn (Office of Perran Moon MP), Jack Cryer (Palace Yard), Jack Gebhard (Office of Andrew Snowden MP), Jack Hodgkinson (Office of Sarah Edwards MP), Jed Akehurst (Office of Gurinder Josan MP), Kathryn Russell (Office of Andrew Snowden MP), Lee Brown (Office of Richard Burgon MP), Lucy McIntyre (Palace Yard), Michael Minall (Jacobs), Natascha Engel (Palace Yard), Phoebe Kelsbie (Palace Yard), Roberta Blackman-Woods (Palace Yard), Sufyan Ahmed (Office of Simon Opher MP), Suneel Appan (Future Biogas), Tim Davies (Office of Simon Opher MP), William Bush (Palace Yard)

SPEAKERS: Prof Sir John Curtice (Professor of Politics at the University of Strathclyde and a Senior Research Fellow at the National Centre for Social Research)

Minutes

Lord Norton introduced Prof Sir John Curtice and welcomed guests. Sir John gave a presentation, followed by a Q&A session chaired by Lord Norton.

The APPG for Social Science and Policy is sponsored by the UKRI's Economic and Social Research Council and the secretariat delivered by Palace Yard

