Undocumented Migrants: Deportation

(asked on 28th June 2021) - View Source

Question to the Home Office:

To ask Her Majesty's Government how many return and readmission agreements, or Memoranda of Understanding for the return of migrants found illegally in the UK, they have participated in either (1) bilaterally, and (2) as a member state of the EU, in each of the past five years.

Answered by
Lord Greenhalgh Portrait
Lord Greenhalgh
This question was answered on 12th July 2021

Bilaterally outside of the EU, the UK has a range of returns arrangements with receiving countries including bilateral MoU, formal readmission agreements and informal operational arrangements which provide the basis for administrative removal and deportation of own country nationals.

Formal immigration returns arrangements are in place with following countries:

Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Azerbaijan, China, Djibouti, Democratic Republic of Congo, Guinea, Iraq, Kuwait, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Korea, South Sudan, Switzerland, Vietnam.

As an EU Member State, the UK participated in 14 of the 18 EU Readmission Agreements. These were with: Pakistan, Georgia, Serbia, Albania, Turkey, Sri Lanka, Ukraine, Russia, Moldova, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Montenegro, Macedonia, Macao and Hong Kong.

Reticulating Splines