New Towns APPG

First Registered: 28/09/2017 • Last updated on: 15/06/2022

To celebrate the contribution made by the UK’s New Towns and highlight the challenges and opportunities they face. This APPG aims to change attitudes to the New Towns and gain recognition for them; make the case for investment in their growth and renewal; and positively help shape future government policy.

Note: All-Party Parliamentary Groups (APPGs) are informal, cross-party groups formed by MPs and Members of the House of Lords who share a common interest in a particular policy area, region or country. APPGs have no official status within Parliament.
View Official Register Entry

Reticulating Splines
APPG Supplied Content

APPGs can register with Parallel Parliament and submit files and articles to be placed here.

Parallel Parliament offers the facility for APPGs to submit written content and files, which are made available through this page.

Submitters can draft and edit publications, and either release them on demand, or schedule release for a future date.

Both text content and attached files submitted through this facility is indexed by our website, and made available through both the search function and relevant e-mail alerts. Any of our users registered for an alert which matches your content, will receive a link making them aware of its publication.

If you wish to register as an authorised representative of the New Towns APPG and use this facility, click below

6 Current APPG Officers
Lisa Cameron Portrait
Lisa Cameron
Chair & Registered Contact
Scottish National Party - East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow
Joined: 28th September 2017
Lord Best Portrait
Lord Best
Crossbench - Life peer
Joined: 28th September 2017
Lucy Allan Portrait
Lucy Allan
Vice Chair
Conservative - Telford
Joined: 28th September 2017
Robert Halfon Portrait
Robert Halfon
Conservative - Harlow
Joined: 28th September 2017
Contact Details

Registered Contact:

Dr Lisa Cameron MP, House of Commons, London, SW1A 0AA. Tel: 020 7219 6855.


Public Enquiry Point:

Katy Lock , Town & Country Planning Association, 17 Carlton House Terrace, London SW1Y 5AS . Tel: 020 3965 4379



Town & Country Planning Association acts as the group's secretariat.

Group's Website:

26 Jan 2022
The Town and Country Planning Association
The Town and Country Planning Association is paid by The Lady Margaret Paterson Osborn Trust to act as the group's secretariat   From : 26/01/2022 To : 25/01/2023

No direct financial benefits are on record for the New Towns APPG

Former APPG Officers
Nick Thomas-Symonds Portrait
Nick Thomas-Symonds
Labour - Torfaen
Joined: 28th September 2017
Departed: 5th November 2019
No other APPG Memberships
Faisal Rashid Portrait
Faisal Rashid
Labour - Former Member for Warrington South
Joined: 2nd January 2019
Departed: 5th November 2019
No other APPG Memberships
Rachel Maclean Portrait
Rachel Maclean
Conservative - Redditch
Joined: 28th September 2017
Departed: 21st November 2018
1 APPG Membership
Data Analytics
Iain Stewart Portrait
Iain Stewart
Conservative - Milton Keynes South
Joined: 28th September 2017
Departed: 18th July 2018
No other APPG Memberships